My Thoughts & Views

Mysql service Error 2: the system cannot find the file specified

Posted on: June 21, 2007

Yesterday i tried to work on Mysql, but found that the mysql service was not started so i tried to figure it out the problem, i started the service from services mmc in windows xp i encountered an error: “Error 2: the system cannot find the file specified“.

I googled and didn’t find solution to that problem so i decided to find it out by myself.i checked my.ini file and also checked all the files in side bin directory then i found out the solution.
the file name of mysqld-nt.exe was renamed to mysqld-nt.exe~ i renamed it back to its original name and solved the problem. Hope this information is useful to others searching for this problem.

3 Responses to "Mysql service Error 2: the system cannot find the file specified"

Thanks for the info.
I had the same error on my development pc – in the event viewer it showed that the specified file was mysqld-max.exe There was not a file by that name so I copied mysqld-nt.exe to mysqld-max.exe.
That worked.
I have no idea where the original went or why it would be named mysqld-max.exe

-Chris

@Chris

Thanks. I am happy to know that it helped.

Thanks guys my mysqld-nt-max.exe was missing renamed the one mentioned above to the file my service is requesting and bingo works.

thanks for pointing me in right direction

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 72,977 hits
June 2007
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Top Clicks

  • None